Tennessee is home to 23 species of frogs. Please take the time to learn more about these interesting and beneficial residents of our state.

Amphibian and Reptile Checklist for each of the Grand Divisions of Tennessee

West Tennessee

Middle Tennessee

East Tennessee

County Map by


Tennessee's Frogs

American Toad (Anaxyrus americanus)

Fowler’s Toad (Anaxyrus fowleri)

Northern Cricket Frog (Acris crepitans)

Southern Cricket Frog (Acris gryllus)

Bird-voiced Treefrog (Hyla avivoca)

Cope’s Gray Treefrog (Hyla chrysoscelis)

Green Treefrog (Hyla cinerea)

Barking Treefrog (Hyla gratiosa)

Gray Treefrog (Hyla versicolor)

Mountain Chorus Frog (Pseudacris brachyphona)

Spring Peeper (Pseudacris crucifer)

Upland Chorus Frog (Pseudacris feriarum)

Eastern Narrow-mouthed Toad (Gastrophryne carolinensis)

Eastern Spadefoot (Scaphiopus holbrookii)

Crawfish Frog (Lithobates areolatus)

Plains Leopard Frog (Lithobates blairi)

Dusky Gopher Frog (Lithobates sevosus)

American Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeianus)

Green Frog (Lithobates clamitans)

Pickerel Frog (Lithobates palustris)

Southern Leopard Frog (Lithobates sphenocephalus)

Wood Frog (Lithobates sylvaticus)


In Tennessee, it is illegal to harm, kill, remove from the wild, or possess native amphibians or amphibians taken from the wild without the proper permits.

Please help the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA) to protect our native amphibians. Do not remove frogs/tadpoles from the wild or release frogs/tadpoles that have been captive into the wild.

Once-captive frogs/tadpoles often don't survive in the wild and can introduce harmful diseases and parasites into the wild.



Tennessee Herpetological Society

For questions or photo id's, please email:

Web Design by Froghaven Farm

All Content and Photos Copyright 2016

Last update April 08, 2016